Get It Together
Get It Together
Talking with Jeff Rosenstock
1
0:00
-50:36

Talking with Jeff Rosenstock

1

If you’d like to receive this newsletter in your inbox, you can subscribe for free below. Paid subscriptions with extra content and snail mail are also available and help keep this thing going. Feel free to forward and share this post. Thanks for reading/listening!

Over the past year, I’ve interviewed several friends about their creative process. I haven’t interviewed anyone since COVID hit (what is making art anymore?) but if there’s one person I wanted to talk to this year, it’s Jeff Rosenstock. I’m going to go out on a limb and assume that most of you are at least slightly familiar with his punk and ska-adjacent music, or the soundtrack he composes for Craig of the Creek. If not, I think you’d like it!

We’ve been buds for a long time and a couple of years ago Jeff interviewed ME in Brooklyn (for his newsletter?) but that chat hasn’t made it anywhere because we talked for so long that no one in their right mind would transcribe that for fun. I thought it would only be fair for me to follow up that conversation in our new home of Los Angeles at one of my favorite places, Razorcake HQ. Big thanks to Todd Taylor and Razorcake for letting us use their podcasting studio. Of course, I forgot to take a photo that day, so the one above is from a show we played together at House of Independents in New Jersey.

I’m clearly not a podcast host, and this is really half interview, half two friends talking about stuff, but hopefully it comes through that I really appreciate Jeff’s approach to making music. We discuss such urgent questions as what are we doing with our lives? is it possible to write a positive song right now? and if you release a record during lockdown, does it truly exist?

Enjoy!

Here’s Jeff’s appearance on Late Night with Seth Meyers, as mentioned in the interview:


A list of interviews previously published in Get It Together:

Marisa Dabice from Mannequin Pussy
Author and pizza lover Colin Hagendorf
David Combs, aka Spoonboy, from Bad Moves
Sarah Tudzin from Illuminati Hotties

You can follow Worriers on Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

I also have a PO Box if you’d like to send or share things: PO Box 4684, Valley Village, CA 91617

1 Comment
Get It Together
Get It Together
A queer-feminist perspective on punk/indie/pop music, visual art, etc. along with interviews on building a creative life.
It’s a little ranty, pretty queer, and my outlet to earnestly tell you about the things I love.